Back to news

League News

District League Report February 26th

  • 02/03/22
Football image

Moorside versus AFC Dalton at Fall Lane, Marsden

Heywood Irish Centre took advantage of leaders Newsome inactivity by moving into top spot in division 1 after a hard fought 1-0 win away at Berry Brow with Matthew Colcombe scoring the winner.

Heywood Irish Centre took advantage of leaders Newsome inactivity by moving into top spot in division 1 after a hard fought 1-0 win away at Berry Brow with Matthew Colcombe scoring the winner. Diggle won a well-earned point away at Holmbridge with goals from Sam Hudson and Nick Warhurst in a 2-2 draw. Seb Allen scoring a brace for the Bridge. Scholes beat Skelmanthorpe 2-0, and Ricardo Ianzito scored both as Shepley ground out a narrow 2-1 win at home to Linthwaite Athletic.
In division 2 second placed Netherton piled the pressure onto leaders Dalton Dynamos as Joel Rushworth (two) and Michael Carter scored in a 3-2 win over Kirkburton. Ben Robinson and Joseph Somerville scoring for Kirkburton. Craig Thompson, Jordan McMinn and Simon Lee scored as Dalton Dynamos drew 3-3 with fourth placed Kirkheaton Rovers which saw their lead at the top, cut to 7 points with 3 games to play for the top 2 clubs. Huddersfield Laund Hill kept up their faint promotion hopes by beating neighbours and third placed club AFC Lindley 2-1. Tom White scored for Lindley and James Knowles and Zach Nash scored for Laund Hill. Almondbury Woolpack moved out of the relegation places with goals from Devonte Davies, Shervan Kershaw and David Ginty in 3-2 win over bottom club Holme Valley Academicals. Marsh United remain second to bottom despite a well-earned 4-2 win over Cumberworth, whose goals were scored by Carl Auckland.
Deighton wrapped up the division 3 title with a thirteenth straight win of the season beating second placed Brook Motors 5-1 with goals from Jamal Simpson (two), Romain Simpson (two) and Dwayne Wilkinson. Jack Turner scoring the consolation for the Motors. Moorside moved within a point of Brook Motors with a 10-0 win over bottom club AFC Dalton who had 2 players dismissed in the first half. Moorside’s’ goals were scored by Jason Evans (three), Joseph Fagan (three) and Sean Salford who scored four.
AFC Volunteers moved up to second place in division 4 with a hard fought 4-3 win over third placed Saddleworth United. Saddleworth opened the scoring after 7 minutes with a goal from Sean Roscoe. Ronan Helliwell equalised 10 minutes later. Joel Longmore restored Saddleworth’s lead just before half time. Sean Roscoe made it 1-3 to extend Saddleworth’s lead early in the second half before Ronan Helliwell scored his second of the game to make it 2-3. An outstanding performance from Helliwell saw him equalise with his third as the game entered the final few minutes. After a mazy run down the wing from Ryan Matthews, in which he beat 3 defenders he crossed to find Harvey Miller who lashed the ball home for the winning goal to send the home crowd wild.
In the Reserves Section Deighton moved up to second in division one with a 6-3 win at Diggle. Deighton’s goals were scored by Matthew Shaw (two), Omar Sinclair (two), Coron Rowe and Javan Allison whilst Jack Marland scored all 3 for Diggle. Dalton Dynamos whose goals were scored by Tomi Mac Creaghan, Jerrelle Tyrell (two) and Piotr Jatczak drew with Fothergill and Whittles 4-4 and Linthwaite Athletic beat Netherton 3-2. Heywood Irish Centre comfortably beat Berry Brow 3-0 with goals from Carlton Balmer, Damon Nichols and Luke Stead.
In division 2 goals from John Lodge (two), Richard Botchway, Greg Killock and James Lendon saw Brook Motors beat Scholes A 5-3 and move up to fourth in the table. Third placed AFC Lindley dropped points when drawing 0-0 with Holmbridge. Cumberworth stay second on goal difference from Lindley with a 4-4 draw at home to Britannia Sports A. Goals for Cumberworth were scored by Ethan Phelan, Joe Senior and David Dunne (two).
Slaithwaite United kept on course for the division 3 championship with a 10-0 win over Netherton A with goals from Josh Moore (four), Dominik Moorhouse (three), Ben Boulton (two) and Scott Garside. Deighton A drew 1-1 with Linthwaite Athletic A and Cameron Wilkey scored all four as Grange Moor Saints beat Mount 4-0. Adam Summerscales hit a hattrick for Wooldale Wanderers as they drew 3-3 with second placed Berry Brow A. Kimani Morgan, Stephen Njenga and Luke McLoughlin scoring for Berry Brow. Skelmanthorpe move up to third place following goals from Richard Alderson (two), Antoni Short and Jimmy Brookes in their 4-3 win over Cumberworth A. George Haigh, Taylor Hartley and Joshua Hollings scored for Cumberworth.
In division 4 leaders Dalton Dynamos A head into the last stage of the season needing at least 4 more points to be champions after a 4-0 win away at Cumberworth B. Kyle Walter (two), Nathan Large and Marcus Osbourne scored for the Dynamos. Bottom club West End Park Development lost an entertaining game 4-8 to second bottom club Honley.

District League Report February 26th 2022 - Download / Open