Back to news

League News

Super League applications received

  • 22/12/09
Football image

16 clubs have applied to join the new FA Women's Super League.

The FA can today (Monday 21 Dec)announce that 16 clubs presented their applications on Friday 18 December to be part of the new FA Women’s Super League, launching in March 2011.

Subject to clubs meeting the required criteria, an optimum eight licences will be offered to the strongest applicants by March 2010, giving all clubs a full 12 months to prepare for the launch of The League.

The following clubs have applied to be part of The FA Women’s Super League:

Arsenal Ladies FC, Barnet FC, Birmingham City Ladies FC, Bristol Academy Women’s FC, Chelsea Ladies FC, Colchester United Ladies FC, Doncaster Rovers Belles, Everton Ladies FC, Leeds Carnegie Ladies FC, Leicester City FC, OOH Lincoln Ladies, Liverpool, Millwall Lionesses FC, Newcastle United Women's FC, Nottingham Forest, Sunderland Women’s FC.

The FA’s Chief Executive, Ian Watmore, said: “We are delighted with the number of bids we have received from clubs who wish to be part of The Women’s Super League in this country.

"This is a very strong indication that the vision we have of creating an elite League that will take our domestic game to a higher level is shared by many people within women’s football. We now have to work hard to ensure we have a comprehensive and thorough review process of all bids received and we look forward to announcing the successful clubs in 2010.”